Tuesday 28 June 2011 – Interim Post

Jill has posted a “can’t keep up” entry to her blog, reminding me that I’ve been meaning to do the same. Trying to tame a new computer system has stopped me in my tracks.

I’ve gone from Windows XP to Windows 7. It has proved impossible to transfer one single piece of the software that I use every day. Everything has had to be updated, generally at a price. Even having paid the price, I find there are intractable problems with supposedly professional software.

The two worst instances:

  1. I can no longer synchronise my Palm Centro phone with Microsoft Outlook’s calendar, so my scheduling system has broken down, and
  2. I have to learn a whole new program for making web pages because the one I’ve been using for many years (Homesite, an excellent tool for creating standards-compliant websites) doesn’t work with Windows 7. As it has ceased to be maintained by its owners, Adobe, in favour of glitzier, graphics-heavy alternatives, it never will.

I’ve been too busy crying to go for walks, let alone write about them.

This entry was posted in Contains a rant, Local, Querulous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday 28 June 2011 – Interim Post

  1. dac says:

    I’m sharing the pain, with FreeNAS (http://www.freenas.org) blowing up in my face on my existing hardware. I hate unix when it encounters anything out of the ordinary. Kernel Panics (where the machine just stops dead) suck.

    Outlook not syncing with Palm is really odious. The solution they all use is to install the 32bit version of Office (the default). I wouldn’t have thought that a 64bit version would have caused any problems (on a 64bit operating system). Live and learn. Outlook syncing has always been a Black Box Mystery to me. It either works, or it doesn’t, and when it doesn’t, it doesn’t seem amenable to anything at all in order to solve the issues.

    Overall, I think your migration from Windows XP to Windows 7 has been smoothish. The problem with software out of support (and not working on updated systems) is always going to be there. Oh how I missed my favourite editor “ced” when I moved from the Amiga platform. I learned a new one and moved on. Nowadays I put up with the plain-ness of Notepad, and just save notes higgledy-piggledy on my computer.

    We did some walks — but the past two weekends has been Walk Free due to various things. Next Weekend, for sure, eh?

    I can uninstall the 64bit version of Office, and install the 32bit version, over the weekend. No doubt it will be a little nightmare, but since you need calendar reminders on the palm, it’s pretty well the only solution.

  2. valkyrie1 says:

    We are certainly having a frustrating time with the computers. The problem between Outlook and Palm isn’t helped by Palm (now owned by HP) apparently announcing that they’re not going to do anything to fix it. You’d think that would be quite bad for business!

    I’ve been able to synchronise between my computer and my palm/phone for about 10 years, so I’m pretty attached to the process. I’ll gratefully accept your offer to fix it, and I’ll hold you to the promise of a walk. 🙂

    Every time I encountered another program that wouldn’t run with Windows 7, I got crosser about the instant obsolescence we’re obliged to accept in software. Whatever happened to “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”? Eventually I settled for the cynical view that Life, which I once thought was about friends and beauty, is in fact about being ripped off at every turn. Nothing new: Henry Fielding wrote about it in Joseph Andrews in 1742.

    From my point of view, it has been the hardest upgrade ever – and of course I’m still not finished.

Leave a Reply

