Saturday 15 January 2011 – Pearce

No back spasm since Wednesday morning. I have to get back to walking, and the only way to do it is to do it. Starting small is important: Dac suggested staying close to home.

O’course home is on the side of Mount Taylor, so everywhere you walk from here involves gradients. I didn’t want to walk uphill, which limited our path to straight ahead: along both bits of our street to the oval, over to Hodgson Crescent and back. 31° was forecast, so we agreed to set out at 9am.

Originally I offered to walk up Hodgson Crescent and across to Pendred Street so we could have a different way home. Dac reckoned walking up Hodgson Crescent would be just as bad as walking up Murphy Street, which I find horribly steep. I didn’t agree, so when he changed the arrangements and said he was going up to the Pearce shops to buy diet coke, I was happy to trail along behind and meet him over the road at the Pearce Community Centre.

As soon as we stepped out the door, we were struck by the heat. I don’t know what the temperature was, but it was hot. The sky looked and felt like a bright blue anodysed iron bowl over our heads. A very hot bowl. I wanted to stop under every tree and hide.

Our neighbour was out the front of his house and greeted us happily – we aren’t often seen in the street. He was pleased, he said, that we were finally having some proper summer weather. I’m not!

A man was walking this jaunty little dog just as we reached Hodgson Crescent:

Happy little dog

Happy dog

I asked him if I could take its photograph and we spent quite some time trying to get it to look at the camera. I even asked the man to take a photo, since the dog was mostly interested in looking at him, but he must have become unrecognisable behind my pink camera!

Hodgson Crescent is definitely not as steep as Murphy Street, but I still had to stop in the shade and pant and have a drink from my mysteriously Vitamin-B-flavoured water bottle. I didn’t realise Dac had already made his purchases and was waiting for me to turn up. He was probably quick, and I was undoubtably slow, so he was worried that I’d fallen over or something.

As soon as we turned the corner, we saw these fluffy creatures coming towards us:

Two chows

Chows

Dac said “Quick! He’s going to turn off,” and sure enough, the man walking the dogs started to take them into the trees, onto the path to the shops. Saying “Quick!” to me is pointless, but I waved my camera, and the nice man stopped and led the dogs over to me. He told me that

  • they were Chows,
  • they were both females,
  • they were very well-behaved, and
  • Chows are the only dogs with blue tongues.

Must be related to polar bears and lizards!

Nothing exciting happened the rest of the way home. After walking 1.2km I was completely drenched in sweat, though, and glad I’d delayed my shower till after the walk.

This entry was posted in Local and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday 15 January 2011 – Pearce

  1. albertine says:

    Blue tongues!! OK – I’ll believe you.
    Very glad to hear that your back has decided to behave for a bit.
    I met some rescued Siberian huskies on the beach yesterday, but sadly my camera’s battery had died. They had marvellously talkative, if angry and self-righteous, owner. Then there was a dog that looked exactly like The Poky Little Puppy – so no real need for a picture there.

  2. Marc says:

    Why do so many chows have muzzles? When I read about blue tongues I thought that maybe that had something to do with it. But it doesn’t. Are they just very aggressive? they do not seem to be but on my daily walks I often pass a Chow or two (they seem to come in pairs) and they always have muzzles.

  3. valkyrie1 says:

    According to Wikipedia, they don’t like strangers. It doesn’t actually say they bite. Perhaps their fluffiness makes them not like strangers, many of whom lean down and say “Awwwwwwww!” to them. Our pretty cat Min had the same problem, and used to go for the jugular.

    Their official name is “chow chow”, which I can’t help thinking causes them to come in pairs.

Leave a Reply

